Bendix G-15: Garage Archaeology

Part 3 of a series: Bendix G-15 Restoration

I finally got a good look at the Bendix today. It’s been in my friend’s garage for many years and has a fair bit of dust on it but it’s in great condition overall. I live in the mountains at the end of a very bumpy dirt road, so we’re going to transport the large, fragile components (CPU, 2 tape drives) to some spare office space I’ve located down on the flatlands to avoid any damage. I hate to think of 350 irreplaceable vacuum tubes rattling around in the back of a truck. I’ll bring the console, which is relatively small and light, up to my house and work on it here.

Some of the equipment has been used as a home by unwanted creatures. A contact at one of the large computer museums recommended that the contaminated equipment be disinfected by a professional pest control service. That’s what we’ll do!

My friend and Bendix G-15 donor
Front view of the CPU
Side view of the CPU
The “Master Writer” typewriter console

Next: Bendix G-15: Typewriter Console

Leave a comment